Skip to main content

Newest Members of the Cum Laude Society Announced

Founded in 1906, the Cum Laude Society is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools in the United States and abroad. The Motto of the Cum Laude Society is Areté, Diké, Timé; which translates to ‘Excellence, Justice, Honor’. The Newman Chapter at Oratory Prep was established in 2016 and is currently comprised of ten graduating seniors plus charter members representing exemplary members of our community, faculty, and alumni. Students are selected for membership based on their cumulative academic record and represent the top 10 students in the junior class based on weighted grade point average.

"The Cum Laude Society embodies Oratory Prep's commitment to our student's quest for Academic Excellence, Justice, and Honor" explained Dr. Lee Sherry, a Charter Member at Oratory and a member of the Cum Laude Society since 1999. Dr. Sherry added that he finds a meaningful parallel between ideals of the Society and the Oratory School Belief Statement which identifies our students as living witnesses to the belief that honesty and integrity are hallmarks of who we are.